About 30STM

In a group on Facebook, “Echelon Family on Facebook :)) “, someone posted a comment about how someone they talked to said they ONLY liked 30STM music, that they listened to nothing else, and it bothered her.  In one way, it would bother me too: you really can’t appreciate music until you’ve heard something to compare it to.

Anyway, she asked everyone, “Do YOU guys only love 30STM?”

My response:

I love all music, from Classical to Death Metal. It’s MUSIC, and that is what matters to me. In college, I had a music teacher who taught us to separate an orchestra: if we couldn’t single out an instrument and tell him what they were playing, we didn’t pass.
Very few bands have the ability to send that into overload. I have to listen to most songs over and over to piece them back together. For most of the 30STM songs, before Jared, before Tomo and Matt, I hear Shannon (and I hear him to the point I can be walking in a store and hear one of their songs and it will stop me in my tracks.)
I grew up in a Beatles household, but it wasn’t until I was on my own (after taking those classes (and mind you, I played the flute)) that I was actually able to HEAR what was going on in the songs. Pink Floyd is another group that recorded in layers (as I know our guys sometimes do): they get the words from Roger Waters, and they would start playing around with what the words inspired in them; then the layers would all be put together. We know our guys do it: how many times have you read about Shannon saying (or everyone saying about Shannon) that he doesn’t just play a standard rhythm: live performances, his drumming is always just a little different. Tomo plays what flows through him: there may be a set melody, but he is a siphon feeding into his guitar. And Jared…until you’ve actually tried singing him (corny I know, but try it on Rock Band 2 and see how well YOU do!) I have no idea what his vocal range is, but it’s damned incredible! Whenever I “practice”, I start with warm up songs, and I always end up on my 30STM songs, using hard mode, so that I actually have to train my voice so I don’t fail out (I won’t go into me and “The Kill”…) But since I started training like that, my voice has gotten stronger, I have better control, and I’ve increased my range.
And that’s just the technical stand point. I’m in awe of their talent, but their personalities make me love them.
My biggest reason I love 30STM? The Echelon. With as screwed up as my life has been, with all the pain and diseased things people have done (most of them by family), instead of telling people I’m an orphan or anything, I tell them I have a HUGE family: all different ages, races, religions, in different parts of the world. And it’s not a family you’re stuck with cause you were born into it. Every member of this family is here by CHOICE. We CHOOSE each other.

As to other bands I love, I started out at 4 playing air guitar along with the Eagles. I’ve been die-hard into music ever since. Roy Orbison, Bobby Darin, Johnny Cash, Rolling Stones, Gordon Lightfoot, David Bowie, the Bee Gees (pre-disco stuff), ELO (you want to talk about HARMONY!), Duran Duran, U2, Johnny Clegg and Savuka, Clannad, Garou, Matchbox Twenty, Siouxsie, KISS, Ozzy, Def Leppard, Violent Femmes, Eminem, She Wants Revenge, Depeche Mode…I can LITERALLY go on for days.

Maybe it’s the Roma in me (on my grandmother’s side; her mother’s father was Polish Roma) or the Irish, the German, the English, the Russian, the French.

But in truth, and the guys captured it with K&Q (and I STILL cry listening to it): I love music because it saved me. More than books (though I love to read); the only reason I survived the past 38 years is because of one simple word: MUSIC. Mr. Acker Bilk’s “Stranger on the Shore”, LP’s “Numb”, Matchbox’s “Hand Me Down”, U2’s “Stay (Faraway, So Close)”, Marilyn Manson’s “Disposable Teens”, Blue October’s “Hate Me”, John Lennon’s “Mother”, Pink Floyd’s “Brain Damage/Eclipse”, Queen’s “The Show Must Go On”, KISS’s “When You Wish Upon a Star” (on the Gene Simmons album, it’s amazing how beautiful it is!)…I can keep going on and on…I find ME in songs that span centuries (I used to sing Sea Shanties at Ren Faire.) They don’t even have to be “good” songs, or sung well, played well. They’re just songs that stick with me (I am not ashamed to admit I like the Bee Gees, Michael Jackson, even the occasional N*Sync song. I’m not much into Rap or Country, but there are plenty of songs in both categories that I listen to.)

Some people are saved by friends or lovers; some are saved by God or religion. I was saved by Music.

About Kristi Deming

RAFO

Leave a Reply

