“Please Remember” A Tribute to Those Lost to Bullycide

Stats:

Roughly one in five youth are bullied.

Over half of adolescents have been the target of cyber bullying.

Youth who are bullied are 5 times more likely to suffer from depression than youth who are not bullied.

Boys who are bullied are 4 times more likely to be suicidal
.
Girls who are bullied are 8 times more likely to be suicidal.

Suicide is the 3rd leading cause of death for youth.

These are the faces of our sons, daughters, sisters, brothers, nieces, nephews, grandsons and granddaughters.

These are the faces of our youth, our loved ones, who were bullied; who were bullied to the point where their pain felt unbearable and they ended their lives.

Being bullied leaves young people with overwhelming feelings of despair, humiliation, and hopelessness.

If even one child ends their life due to the pain of being bullied, that is one child too many.

“Please Remember”

Please take a minute to remember
What teasing, name calling, and ridiculing can do
The harm that it can cause
The people that it can hurt

The turmoil that it adds to
As I try to figure out where I fit in
I am someone’s son
I am someone’s daughter
I am someone’s pride and joy

I am the center of someone’s universe
Please don’t classify me
For the clothes that I wear
Or for the music that I listen to

Because I may be short or tall
Because I am fat or thin
Don’t classify me
For the color of my skin

Please don’t categorize me
Because I excel academically or athletically
Because I may be an honor student
Because I may play sports

Or because I’m none of the above
Don’t call me a nerd, geek, preppy, or a jock
I just do some things better than you
And other things not as well

Am I different from you, or
Are you different from me
Aren’t we just individuals
Each trying to make our own way in life

Please take a minute to remember
I am someone’s son
I am someone’s daughter
I am someone’s pride and joy
I am the center of someone’s universe

~P.S. Walker (Columbine student)

We will not let the tragic loss of our loved ones be in vain.

We are their voices.
We know the utter pain and despair that bullying inflicts on its targets.

Please join us. Speak up and take a stand for those who are taunted and tormented, excluded and made to feel unwanted and worthless.

Please reach out and let them know you care.

It is time to be kind and teach kindness and compassion above all else.

Because if we don’t have kindness and compassion, nothing else matters.

Resources:
http://www.bullying.co.uk/
http://www.bullyingnoway.com.au/
http://stopbullying.gov/
http://www.stopbullyingworld.org/

About Kristi Deming

RAFO

Leave a Reply

